Pasta Sauce… Success.

So since I have no work to do tonight (hence the ridiculous amount of blogging today), I decided to make myself sometime special for dinner.

Now I am definitely no cook. It’s not that I can’t cook. I’ve made some really awesome, semi-complicated meals in the past. It’s really just that I really don’t have the patience for it. It’s time-consuming and I find myself getting distracted constantly. Then something always ends up burning/ on fire/ spilling over. So usually I stick to basic meals that require little to no cooking time or skill.

But since being in Rome, I’ve expanded my horizons in the kitchen. The vegetables here are just too ridiculous good (So much better than the US, probably because they lack artificial growth hormones and are the way nature intended them to be)  to not try new things with them. And that, coupled with a cooking lesson in Florence compliments of my abroad program, made me want to try something new. But seeing as it’s Sunday, and everything is closed my options we’re pretty limited with the amount of groceries I had left over from my last trip to Tuodi (aka the BEST grocery store ever…. everything is dirt cheap there. You literally leave feeling like you robbed the place).

So I tried my hand at making my own pasta sauce. I diced up a tomato and a zucchini ( really all I had in way of produce). I simmered some olive oil with some pepper and basil in a pot. Then added the combination of zucchini and tomatoes. Added about a 4th cup of water. Covered. Let simmer for about 10 minutes. Put a pinch of red pepper in for good measure. Then added pasta. and Voalah! Home made pasta sauce. Unfortunately, it was a bit spicier than expected but still absolutely delicious. I know it was a simple meal, but hey, for me it was pretty damn complicated. I was oh-s0-very proud of myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

